membership
directory
jobline
programs
publications
awards
educate
research
links
en anglais

TORONTO, May 28, 2004 - Lors d’une cérémonie au Oakville Town Hall, l’Association des galeries publiques de l’Ontario (OAAG) a remis trente Prix de mérite de 2004 octroyés par jury à des conservateurs, auteurs, éducateurs, designers, bénévoles, partenaires communautaires et galeries publiques des quatre coins de l’Ontario.

Les Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004, actuellement à leur 27e mouture, sont des prix annuels octroyés par un jury qui viennent reconnaître des réalisations distinguées en arts visuels en sept catégories : expositions, rédaction, conception de livre, conception et installation d’une exposition, programmes de sensibilisation, partenariats et bénévolat.

Cette année, des galeries publiques de Barrie, Kingston, Kleinburg, London, Mississauga, Oakville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Owen Sound et Toronto se sont distinguées en remportant des Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004.

Fait à noter, six prix importants pour les expositions, les projets de sensibilisation et les livres d’art ont été remportés par des projets au carrefour du son et de l’art visuel. On y retrouve notamment l’exposition de l'année (Soundtracks); le livre de l’année (Double-Cross: The Hollywood Films of Douglas Gordon); la conception de publications multimédias et partenaire individuel de l’année (Fig Trees); et le projet de sensibilisation de l’année (mindscaping kingston mills). Le prix pour le livre d’artiste de l’année a été remporté par une publication contenant une œuvre sonore sur disque audionumérique (AA Bronson: The Quick and the Dead).

Pour rendre hommage à l’approche multidisciplinaire d’un grand nombre des lauréats de cette année, les présentateurs invités à la cérémonie de remise de prix d’une heure comprenaient notamment la poète et auteure Di Brandt, finaliste au prix Griffin de cette année, et le poète sonore Gerry Shikitani.

Les jurés ont reconnu plusieurs nouveaux regards importants par des galeries publiques sur certains mouvements et périodes artistiques formateurs du Canada, dont les suivants :

• l’art autochtone historique de la région des Grands lacs (Meeting Ground);
• la photo amateur dans les objets quotidiens et personnels de 1842 à 1969 (Pop Photographica);
• la première exposition de Painters Eleven de Toronto (1953);
• les collaborations et échanges entre artistes canadiens au cours des années 1970 (Golden Streams);
• de nouveaux ouvrages importants sur l’œuvre d’artistes visuels contemporains qui nous ont quitté (Susan Kealey: Ordinary Marvel et General Idea Editions 1967-1995).

Demetra Christakos, directrice générale de l’Association des galeries publiques de l’Ontario, a déclaré :

• « Nous sommes extrêmement fiers de pouvoir reconnaître et récompenser les lauréats des Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004 et d'attirer l'attention sur leurs réalisations considérables dans les arts visuels. »

• « La saison des prix est une période particulièrement animée pour nous. Les galeries publiques sont une véritable composante dynamique de notre vie culturelle. Dans l’ensemble, la qualité des expositions en arts visuels et des nouveaux livres d’art de l’Ontario est de calibre mondial. »

• «À titre d’observatrice du jury, je suis tout à fait impressionnée par la clarté du raisonnement des jurés au cours de leurs délibérations, le soin qu’ils ont apporté à leur mandat et leur patience. Ils ont su voir et apprécier la portée, l’intelligence et l’ambition des divers projets et collaborations en arts visuels en lice cette année. »

• « Plus de trois millions de personnes en Ontario visitent des galeries publiques chaque année et nous constatons que ce nombre augmente d’année en année. »

Faits saillants des Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004

Le conservateur d’art visuel contemporain Philip Monk a remporté le plus important prix de rédaction cette année pour son ouvrage Double-Cross: The Hollywood Films of Douglas Gordon, une co-publication de la Galerie d’art contemporain Power Plant et de la Art Gallery of York University, dont la distribution mondiale est assurée par Distributed Art Publishers Inc.

• Le prix a été accepté au nom de M. Monk par Emelie Chhangur, une collègue conservatrice et artiste visuelle.

• Le fruit de trois années de travail, l’analyse importante et originale de Philip Monk des installations de projections vidéo de l’artiste britannique Douglas Gordon, basées sur des appropriations de films noir de Hollywood ou de films de Hitchcock (ainsi que sur les ouvrages linguistiques connexes) a été reconnue par le jury comme ayant une « écriture envoûtante d’une précision chirurgicale ». La bibliothèque du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada compte actuellement 37 livres et catalogues sur les arts visuels rédigés par Philip Monk.

Le prix pour l’essai contemporain a été remis à Dot Tuer pour « The Heart of the Matter: the mediation of science in the art of Catherine Richards » dans l’ouvrage relié Catherine Richards: Excitable Tissues pour la Galerie d’art d’Ottawa. Un prix de rédaction a également été remis à Anna Hudson pour son essai historique, Wonder Woman and Goddesses : A Conversation About Art with Robert Markle and Joyce Wieland pour le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario.

Trois des distinctions les plus prestigieuses des Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004 ont été remportées par la Blackwood Gallery (Université de Toronto à Mississauga).

Barbara Fischer, conservatrice de la Blackwood Gallery, a accepté le prix de l’exposition de l’année pour Soundtracks, un projet à lieux multiples élaboré en collaboration avec la Edmonton Art Gallery et présenté à l’automne de 2003 dans sept galeries publiques collaboratrices de l’Ontario. L’exposition a été reconnue pour « sa contribution historique, sa pertinence contemporaine et son approche novatrice à la collaboration et aux installations ».

• Les expositions composantes de Soundtracks comprenaient Come A Singing, présentée par la Collection McMichael d’art canadien de Kleinburg; See Hear! du University of Toronto Art Centre; et Re-Play de la Blackwood Gallery, The Gallery (Université de Toronto à Mississauga), le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, la Galerie d’art contemporain Power Plant et InterAccess Electronic Media Arts, Toronto.

• Le jury a fortement loué les cinq conservateurs de Soundtracks, Catherine Crowston, Barbara Fischer, Andrew Hunter, Timothy Long et Ben Portis, pour « avoir réuni un récit unique des œuvres sonores et musicales d’artistes canadiens à un moment où la frontière entre l’expression artistique et la culture populaire est devenue une zone particulièrement fluide et génératrice d’œuvres multidisciplinaires ».

Autre convergence cette année, au moins quatre des principaux prix ont reconnu l’apport du collectif artistique General Idea ainsi que les nouvelles œuvres de son seul survivant, AA Bronson.

• L’importante exposition individuelle de AA Bronson et la nouvelle publication d’accompagnement AA Bronson: The Quick and the Dead ont été reconnues par des grands prix dans les catégories Conception et installation d’une exposition et Livre d'artiste.

• Montée et présentée par la Galerie d’art contemporain Power Plant, l’exposition était dédiée à la mémoire des artistes David Buchan, Rob Flack, Robert Handforth, Felix Partz et Jorge Zontal de General Idea, et du père de l’artiste, John William Tim. Wayne Baerwaldt, directeur du Power Plant, était présent pour accepter le prix pour conception et installation d'une exposition, tandis que Barr Gilmore, maquettiste collaborateur, a accepté le prix du livre d’artiste.

« Parmi les nombreuses formes que peut prendre le deuil, le catalogue raisonné en est une qui est le propre de l'exercice de l'art », observait la conservatrice Barbara Fischer dans son introduction à l’une des publications les plus ambitieuses d’une galerie publique en 2003, General Idea Editions 1967-1995.

• Cet ouvrage de 320 pages, profusément illustré, a remporté le principal prix de cette année pour la conception de livre d'art, remis à son maquettiste Andrew di Rosa / SMALL.

• Les travaux de recherche pour cet ouvrage ont été réunis par Fern Bayer. La publication a été assurée par la Blackwood Gallery (Université de Toronto à Mississauga) en collaboration avec neuf autres galeries partenaires, dont le Agnes Etherington Art Centre de Kingston, la Art Gallery of Hamilton et Museum London.

Les œuvres du collectif artistique General Idea ont également fait l'objet de l’ouvrage primé dans la catégorie première publication. Le prix a été remis au nouveau conservateur Luis Jacob pour son livre Golden Streams: Artists’ Collaborations and Exchange in the 1970s, également publié par Blackwood Gallery (Université de Toronto à Mississauga).

• Le jury a salué « la recherche originale de Luis Jacob, son point de vue historique informateur et sa présentation novatrice des œuvres de quatre groupe artistiques canadiens des années 1970 : Image Bank, General Idea, Banal Beauty Inc. et la New York Corres Sponge Dance School de Vancouver ».

Les prix du partenariat Samuel E. Weir reconnaissent des partenariats importants entre le secteur privé, les fondations, les particuliers et les galeries publiques. Cette année, le jury a primé des candidatures proposées par Oakville Galleries pour les trois prix de partenariat Samuel E. Weir.

• Le mécène visionnaire Salah J. Bachir a été loué pour sa générosité envers la production Fig Trees de Oakville Galleries, un opéra vidéo créé par John Greyson et David Wall. La contribution de Salah Bachir a rendu possible un coffret contenant des essais sur l’opéra, le libretto et un disque audionumérique. Les jurés ont également primé la publication multimédia, Fig Trees, en attribuant un prix de conception à Lewis Nicholson.

Le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario a été reconnu par trois différents jurys pour des projets et des collaborations au cours de l'année d'exposition 2003 dans quatre grandes catégories : édition, conception et installation d’une exposition, sensibilisation et maquette de publication.

• Le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario s’est mérité un important prix pour le projet de sensibilisation All Things Are Connected (Meeting Ground) par des artistes autochtones en résidence, présenté en collaboration avec le Textile Museum of Canada, le groupe théatral De-ba-jeh-mu-jig, le Musée de l’art céramique George R. Gardiner, Red Pepper Spectacle Arts, 7th Generation Image Makers et les artistes visuels Carl Beam, Ann Beam et Samuel Thomas. Le projet a rejoint plus de 13 000 enfants et adultes du 23 février au 14 mars 2003.

Pamela Osler Delworth a remporté le Prix du bénévolat pour sa contribution au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada en tant que présidente des bénévoles des estampes et des gravures et coordonnatrice de la salle des gravures.

• Selon sa mise en candidature par Pierre Théberge, directeur, le projet de la salle des gravures avait été pris en main par Pamela Osler Delworth en 1996 en réponse à un besoin exprimé par le conservateur en chef. En 2003, 781 visiteurs ont été accueillis dans la salle des gravures par une équipe de dix bénévoles. Collectivement, cette équipe a contribué 3 269 heures de bénévolat, Mme Pamela Osler Delworth ayant fourni 651 heures à elle seule.

Les jurys des Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004 comprenaient Mary Albers, directrice générale, RiverBrink – Home of the Weir Collection, Queenston, ON; Jessica Bradley, conservatrice indépendante, ancienne conservatrice d’art contemporain au Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, Toronto; Gary Hall, directeur de la Gallery TPW, Toronto; Rachel Kalpana James, directrice générale, South Asian Visual Arts Collective (SAVAC), Toronto; Scott McLeod, directeur / conservateur, Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto; Nancy Parke-Taylor, spécialiste des beaux-arts, avocate, Toronto; Kathleen Pirrie Adams, ancienne directrice de la programmation au InterAccess Electronic Media Arts Centre, titulaire de cours au Collège Sheridan et au Ontario College of Art and Design, Toronto; Jay Richardson, membre du conseil de l’OAAG, président, MANACA Inc., Toronto; et Liz Wylie, conservatrice, University of Toronto Art Centre, Toronto.

Les Prix de mérite OAAG de 2004 ont été généreusement commandités par Inco Limited et Merchant Capital Group ainsi que par de nombreux individus. L’Association des galeries publiques de l'Ontario remercie également ses collaborateurs pour les prix de 2004 : Catered Fare, CJ Graphics Inc., Contact Editions, Hawkestone Communications • public affairs, Lisa Kiss Design, Oakville Town Hall, Pages Books and Magazines, The Flower Room, The Japanese Paper Place et Robert Darling.

L’Association des galeries publiques de l’Ontario (OAAG), située à Toronto, est un élément important de l’infrastructure des arts visuels au Canada. Porte-parole de ses membres provenant des milieux des galeries publiques, des musées de beaux-arts, des centres dirigés par des artistes et des organismes artistiques, l'OAAG défend les intérêts mutuels en proposant une panoplie de services dont son programme de prix de mérite, des sessions de développement professionnel, des conférences, des publications, des stratégies de communication ciblées et des projets spéciaux.

2008
2007
2006
2005
2004 Winners
About 2002 Awards
2003
2002
























© 2004 Ontario Association of Art Galleries

membership
directory
jobline
programs
publications
awards
educate
research
links
en français

TORONTO, May 28, 2004 - At a ceremony held at Oakville Town Hall tonight, the Ontario Association of Art Galleries (OAAG) presented thirty 2004 Juried Awards of Merit to curators, educators, designers, volunteers, community partners and public art galleries all across Ontario.

The 2004 OAAG Awards, in their 27th year, are annual juried awards that distinguish prominent achievement in the visual arts in seven categories: exhibitions, writing, book design, exhibition design and installation, education programs, partnerships and volunteers.

This year, public art galleries in Barrie, Kingston, Kleinburg, London, Mississauga, Oakville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Owen Sound, and Toronto were recognized with 2004 OAAG Awards.

Notably, six major exhibition, education project and art book awards went to projects exploring the intersection of sound and visual art. These included exhibition of the year (Soundtracks); book (Double-Cross: The Hollywood Films of Douglas Gordon); multimedia publications design and individual partner (Fig Trees); and education project (mindscaping kingston mills). The artist book award was presented to a publication containing an audiowork on CD (AA Bronson: The Quick and the Dead).

In keeping with the multi-disciplinary approach of many of this year’s award-winners, invited presenters for the one-hour ceremony included poet and writer Di Brandt, shortlisted for this year’s Griffin Prize, and sound poet Gerry Shikitani.

Jurors recognized several significant re-investigations by public art galleries of some of Canada’s formative art movements and histories including:

• Historical aboriginal art from the Great Lakes region (Meeting Ground);
• Amateur photography in everyday and personal objects from 1842 to 1969 (Pop Photographica);
• The first exhibition by Toronto-based Painters Eleven (1953);
• Canadian artists’ collaborations and exchange in the 1970s (Golden Streams);
• Major new books on the work of contemporary visual artists no longer with us (Susan Kealey: Ordinary Marvel and General Idea Editions 1967-1995).

Demetra Christakos, Executive Director, Ontario Association of Art Galleries, commented:

• “We are extremely proud to be able to acknowledge and reward the recipients of the 2004 OAAG Awards and to shine a spotlight on their significant achievements in the visual arts.”

• ”The Awards are an exciting time for us. Public art galleries really are a dynamic part of our cultural life. Overall, the quality of visual art exhibition and art book publication in Ontario is world-class.”

• “As an observer of the jury process, I am thoroughly impressed by the clear thinking behind the jurors’ deliberations, their care and patience. They see and appreciate the scope, intelligence, and ambition behind the nominated visual art projects and collaborations.”

• “More than 3 million people in Ontario visit public art galleries annually and we see that number growing every year.”

2004 OAAG AWARDS HIGHLIGHTS

Contemporary visual art curator Philip Monk won this year’s major writing prize for his 272-page book Double-Cross: The Hollywood Films of Douglas Gordon, a co-publication by the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery and the Art Gallery of York University that is distributed internationally by Distributed Art Publishers Inc.

• Colleague curator and visual artist Emelie Chhangur accepted the award on his behalf.

• Three years in the writing, Philip Monk’s important and original analysis of British artist Douglas Gordon’s video projection installations based on appropriations of Hollywood film noir or Hitchcock films (and their related language works) was deemed by the jury “surgically precise and enthralling writing.” Currently, the National Gallery of Canada Library lists 37 visual art books and catalogues by Philip Monk.

A prize for contemporary essay was awarded to Dot Tuer for “The Heart of the Matter: the mediation of science in the art of Catherine Richards” in the hardcover book Catherine Richards: Excitable Tissues for the Ottawa Art Gallery. Anna Hudson also received a writing award for her historical essay Wonder Woman and Goddesses: A Conversation About Art with Robert Markle and Joyce Wieland for the Art Gallery of Ontario.

Blackwood Gallery (University of Toronto at Mississauga) was recognized with three of the 2004 OAAG Awards most prestigious acknowledgements.

Blackwood Gallery’s curator Barbara Fischer accepted the Exhibition of the Year award for Soundtracks, a multi-venue project developed in conjunction with the Edmonton Art Gallery and presented in the fall of 2003 by seven collaborating Ontario public art galleries. The exhibition was praised for “its historical contribution, its contemporary relevance and its innovative approach to collaboration and installation.”

Soundtracks’ component exhibitions included Come A Singing, presented by the McMichael Canadian Art Collection in Kleinburg; See Hear! by the University of Toronto Art Centre; and Re-Play by the Blackwood Gallery, The Gallery (University of Toronto at Scarborough), the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery and InterAccess Electronic Media Arts, Toronto.

• The jury highly commended Soundtracks’ five curators, Catherine Crowston, Barbara Fischer, Andrew Hunter, Timothy Long and Ben Portis, for “bringing together a unique story of Canadian artists' audio and music works at a moment when boundaries between artistic expression and popular culture have become a most fluid and productive zone for multidisciplinary work.”

No less than four of this year’s major awards acknowledged the contribution of artist collective General Idea and new work by surviving member AA Bronson.

AA Bronson’s major solo exhibition and accompanying new publication AA Bronson: The Quick and the Dead were recognized with major awards for Exhibition Design and Installation and Artist Book.

• Organized and presented by the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, the exhibition was dedicated to the memories of artists David Buchan, Rob Flack, Robert Handforth, Felix Partz and Jorge Zontal of General Idea, and the artist’s father John William Tim. Power Plant director Wayne Baerwaldt was in attendance to accept the award for Exhibition Design and Installation and collaborating graphic designer Barr Gilmore accepted for the Artist Book.

“Of the many shapes that mourning may take, the catalogue raisonné is one that is specific to the practice of art,” curator Barbara Fischer wrote in her introduction to one of 2003’s most ambitious public art gallery publications, General Idea Editions 1967-1995.

• This 320-page book, richly illustrated, won this year’s major art book design award, presented to designer Andrew di Rosa / SMALL.

• Research for the book was compiled by Fern Bayer. It was published by Blackwood Gallery (University of Toronto at Mississauga) in collaboration with nine other partnering galleries including OAAG members Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Kingston, the Art Gallery of Hamilton, and Museum London.

The work of artist collective General Idea was also subject in this year’s writing award for first publication, presented to emerging curator Luis Jacob for his book Golden Streams: Artists’ Collaborations and Exchange in the 1970s, also published by Blackwood Gallery (University of Toronto at Mississauga).

• The jury saluted “Luis Jacob’s original research, informative historical perspective and innovative presentation of the work of four Canadian artist groups in the 1970s: Image Bank, General Idea, Banal Beauty Inc. and the New York Corres Sponge Dance School of Vancouver.”

The Samuel E. Weir Partner Awards acknowledge important partnerships between businesses, foundations and individuals and their public art galleries. This year, the jury cited nominations by Oakville Galleries for all three Samuel E. Weir Partner Awards.

• Visionary philanthropist Salah J. Bachir was commended for his generosity towards Oakville Galleries’ production of Fig Trees, a video opera created by John Greyson and David Wall. Salah Bachir’s contribution permitted a boxed opera set with essays, a libretto and accompanying CD. The jurors also recognized the multimedia publication, Fig Trees, with a design award for Lewis Nicholson.

The Art Gallery of Ontario was recognized by three different juries for projects and collaborations in the exhibition year 2003 across four major categories: writing, exhibition design and installation, education, and publication design.

• The AGO received a major award for the education project All Things Are Connected (Meeting Ground), a First Nations artist-in-residence project presented collaboratively with the Textile Museum of Canada, De-ba-jeh-mu-jig Theatre Group, Harbourfront Centre, Toronto District School Board, the Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art, Red Pepper Spectacle Arts, 7th Generation Image Makers and visual artists Carl and Ann Beam and Samuel Thomas. The project reached over 13,000 children and adults from February 23 to March 14, 2003.

Pamela Osler Delworth was presented with the Volunteer Award for her contribution to the National Gallery of Canada in the volunteer roles of Chair of the Prints and Drawings Volunteers and Coordinator of the Print Room.

• According to her nomination by Pierre Théberge, Director, the print room project was spearheaded by Pamela Osler Delworth in 1996 in response to a need expressed by the Senior Curator. In 2003, there were 781 visitors to the Study Room received by a team of ten volunteers. Collectively, the team put in 3,269 hours of volunteer time. Pamela Osler Delworth contributed 651 hours herself.

2004 OAAG jurors included Mary Albers, Executive Director, RiverBrink – Home of the Weir Collection, Queenston, ON; Jessica Bradley, Independent Curator, former curator of contemporary art at the Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto; Gary Hall, Director, Gallery TPW, Toronto; Rachel Kalpana James, Executive Director, South Asian Visual Arts Collective (SAVAC), Toronto; Scott McLeod, Director/Curator, Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto; Nancy Parke-Taylor, Fine Arts Specialist, Barrister and Solicitor, Toronto; Kathleen Pirrie Adams, Former Program Director at InterAccess Electronic Media Arts Centre, Currently teaches at Sheridan College and the Ontario College of Art and Design, Toronto; Jay Richardson, OAAG Board Member, President, MANACA Inc., Toronto; and Liz Wylie, Curator, University of Toronto Art Centre, Toronto.

The 2004 OAAG Awards are generously sponsored by Inco Limited and Merchant Capital Group, as well as numerous individuals. OAAG also thanks its 2004 Awards contributors: Catered Fare, CJ Graphics Inc., Contact Editions, Hawkestone Communications – Public Affairs, Lisa Kiss Design, Oakville Town Hall, Pages Books and Magazines, The Flower Room, The Japanese Paper Place and Robert Darling.

The Ontario Association of Art Galleries (OAAG), located in Toronto, is an important component of the visual arts infrastructure in Canada. With a membership made up of public art galleries, art museums, artist-run centres and arts-related organizations, OAAG represents the shared interests of its members through a range of services including an awards program, professional development seminars, conferences, publications, targeted communications strategies and special projects.

Photos at right courtesy of Dave Kemp and Robert Darling.

2008
2007
2006
2005
2004 Winners
About 2002 Awards
2003
2002
























© 2004 Ontario Association of Art Galleries