Ontario Association of Art Galleries

OAAG Announces Annual Awards Recognizing Public Art Galleries in Ontario

Join the Ontario Association of Art Galleries for the celebrations!

Thursday, November 17th, 2016
Gladstone Hotel, 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON
Reception 4.30pm-6pm
Ceremony 6pm-9pm

RSVP at or

The Ontario Association of Art Galleries (OAAG) is pleased to announce that 23 public art galleries across Ontario are nominated for the 39th annual OAAG Awards. OAAG will announce the winners at the awards ceremony on Thursday, November 17th, 2016. All are welcome to attend.

The OAAG Awards are annual, province-wide, juried art gallery awards celebrating artistic merit and excellence. They recognize the new exhibitions, publications, programs and community partnerships that have been commissioned and produced by Ontario’s public art galleries over the previous year.

This year’s visual art nominations include submissions from: Barrie, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Markham, Mississauga, Oakville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Sarnia, Scarborough, Sudbury, Toronto, Waterloo, Windsor, and Woodstock.

The Awards are presented in ten major categories: Exhibition, Curatorial and Art Writing, Public Program, Education, Art Publication, Design, Partnership, Lifetime Achievement, Colleague and Volunteer.

“There is immense talent and expertise in the sector that is constantly innovating and responding to the challenges of the times,” says Zainub Verjee, OAAG Executive Director. “We are looking forward to growing the awards which recognize the achievement in the sector.

OAAG will announce the winners at the awards ceremony on Thursday, November 17th, 2016 at 6 p.m. at the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto.

Through network-building, professional development and advocacy, OAAG fosters sustainable, healthy, diverse public art galleries, furthering the visual arts as a key component of the cultural life of Ontario. OAAG serves and represents 250 public art gallery and visual art organization members across the province. OAAG is a registered charitable organization.

OAAG Awards 2016 Sponsors
Gold: ArtTO, Canadian Art, Donderdag, Flash Reproductions, YYZ
Silver: c magazine, CARFAC, Delta Optical, Elgin Picture & Frame Inc., Humber College: School of Creative & Performing Art, Murlidhar Dawani, Open Studio, PACART, Total Transportation Solutions Inc.
Bronze: Art Advisory, Haliburton School of Art & Design, OCADU, Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund, Stephen Bulger Gallery
In Kind: Above Ground, Akimbo Art Promotions, Aga Khan Museum, Canadian Opera Company, Hot Docs Canadian International Festival, Steam Whistle Brewing

Design Credit: Donderdag

Find OAAG Online:
Twitter: @OntArtGalleries
Instagram: @OntArtGalleries

- - - - - - -

Nominations are now closed. Thank you for your submissions!

2016 OAAG Awards Nominated Galleries

Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Kingston
Art Gallery of Hamilton
Art Gallery of Mississauga
Art Gallery of Sudbury
Art Gallery of Windsor
Art Gallery of York University, Toronto
Art Museum, University of Toronto
Blackwood Gallery, Mississauga
Carleton University Art Gallery, Ottawa
Doris McCarthy Gallery, University of Toronto, Scarborough
Varley Art Gallery of Markham
Judith & Norman ALIX Art Gallery, Sarnia
Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery
MacLaren Art Centre, Barrie
McMaster Museum of Art, Hamilton
Mercer Union, Toronto
Museum London
Oakville Galleries
Ottawa Art Gallery / Galerie d'art d'Ottawa
The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto
Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto
The Robert McLaughlin Gallery, Oshawa
Textile Museum of Canada, Toronto
Woodstock Art Gallery

Celebrate the OAAG Awards 2016 with us!

Thursday, November 17th, 2016
Gladstone Hotel, 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON
Reception 5pm-6pm
Ceremony 6pm-9pm

RSVP at or (416) 598-0714.

To become a sponsor contact us at

For more information please visit the 2016 Awards Page.

Silent Auction
© 2004 Ontario Association of Art Galleries