Ontario Association of Art Galleries

OAAG Announces Annual Awards Recognizing Public Art Galleries in Ontario

Save the date - Join Ontario Association of Art Galleries for the celebrations!

Monday, November 27, 2017
Harbourfront Centre
231 Queen's Quay West, Toronto, ON M5J 2G8

The Ontario Association of Galleries (OAAG) is celebrating an iconic moment this year with the 2017 OAAG Awards! This year is a milestone for the Awards, as it is the 40th anniversary of the OAAG Awards program! OAAG is pleased to announce that 32 public art galleries across Ontario are nominated for the 40th annual OAAG Awards. OAAG will announce the winners at the awards ceremony on Monday, November 27, 2017 at the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto. All are welcome to attend.

The OAAG Awards are annual, province-wide, juried art gallery awards celebrating artistic merit and excellence. They recognize the new exhibitions, publications, programs and community partnerships that have been commissioned and produced by Ontario’s public art galleries over the previous year.

This year’s visual art nominations include 149 submissions from: Barrie, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, Kleinburg, London, Markham, Mississauga, Oakville, Oshawa, Ottawa, Sarnia, Scarborough, St. Catharines, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Toronto, Waterloo, Windsor, and Woodstock.

The 2017 OAAG Nominated Galleries:

Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Kingston
Art Gallery of Hamilton
Art Gallery of Mississauga
Art Gallery of Sudbury | Galerie d'art de Sudbury
Art Gallery of York University, Toronto
Art Gallery of Windsor
Art Museum at the University of Toronto
Blackwood Gallery, Toronto
Carleton University Art Gallery, Ottawa
Doris McCarthy Gallery, Scarborough
Gallery 44, Toronto
Gardiner Museum, Toronto
MacLaren Art Centre, Barrie
McIntosh Gallery, London
McMaster Museum of Art, Hamilton
McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Kleinburg
Mercer Union, Toronto
Museum London
Oakville Galleries
Onsite Gallery, OCADU, Toronto
Open Studio, Toronto
Ottawa Art Gallery / Galerie d'art d'Ottawa
Robert McLaughlin Gallery, Oshawa
Rodman Hall Art Centre, St. Catharines
Station Gallery, Whitby
Sur Gallery, Toronto
Textile Museum of Canada, Toronto
The Power Plant Contemproary Art Gallery, Toronto
Thunder Bay Art Gallery
Varley Art Gallery, Markham
Woodstock Art Gallery
Ydessa Hendeles Foundation, Toronto

The Awards are presented in ten major categories: Exhibition, Curatorial and Art Writing, Public Program, Education, Art Publication, Design, Partnership, Lifetime Achievement, Colleague and Volunteer.

Through network-building, professional development and advocacy, OAAG fosters sustainable, healthy, diverse public art galleries, furthering the visual arts as a key component of the cultural life of Ontario. OAAG serves and represents 269 public art gallery and visual art organization members across the province. OAAG is a registered charitable organization.

Follow OAAG on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and our website for 2017 OAAG Award updates including sponsors announcements and when to RSVP!

- - - - - - -

Interested in becoming a sponsor for the 2017 OAAG Awards? View our sponsorship package here and contact us at




Silent Auction
© 2004 Ontario Association of Art Galleries